Cheers to a new beginning

by juneberrystar

I know not many people enjoyed the novel “Eat, Pray, Love” by Elisabeth Gilbert. I for one couldn’t get past the first 50 pages due to be own in ability to deal with my own life and listen to her whine about hers. I have since watched and purchased the movie. It took me a few tries but I realized what it was to me was the same as when I watched “Under the Tuscan Sun” which by the way is nothing like the novel (which I did read). Both of these films show women traveling to new places and finding themselves…. something I am always in great need of and have managed to accomplish for years in different ways. I think what most of the men in my life don’t understand is that this path is what I am doing and if you want to buy a ticket and join the ride be my guest if not please find the nearest exit. To say the least I am taking a break from men. It feels like two years but really its only been one. Can you believe how time tricks us like that? The world was ending only a year ago and here I am now struggling and fighting to piece back together my existence. “I have a history of making decisions very quickly about men. I have always fallen in love fast and without measuring risks. I have a tendency not only to see the best in everyone, but to assume that everyone is emotionally capable of reaching his highest potential. I have fallen in love more times than I care to count with the highest potential of a man, rather than with the man himself, and I have hung on to the relationship for a long time (sometimes far too long) waiting for the man to ascend to his own greatness. Many times in romance I have been a victim of my own optimism.” — Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love) I started looking into quotes from the movie and from her book and its astonishing to hear someone else say what I’ve always felt. “In desperate love, we always invent the characters of our partners, demanding they be what we need of them, and then feeling devastated when they refuse to perform the role we created in the first place.”
— Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love) And in the end: “…I’ve come to believe that there exists in the universe something I call “The Physics of The Quest” – a force of nature governed by laws as real as the laws gravity or momentum. And the rule of Quest Physics maybe goes like this: “If you are brave enough to leave behind everything familiar and comforting (which can be anything from your house to your bitter old resentments) and set out on a truth-seeking journey (either externally or internally), and if you are truly willing to regard everything that happens to you on that journey as a clue, and if you accept everyone you meet along the way as a teacher, and if you are prepared – most of all – to face (and forgive) some very difficult realities about yourself….then truth will not be withheld from you.” Or so I’ve come to believe.” — Elizabeth Gilbert (Eat, Pray, Love) so here it is. To you it may seem small but after everything I have struggled through it is a huge feat that I say this but I forgive you. I forgive you and let go of the anger that has been holding me back and move forward with my new beginning without you.

….. and all endings or new beginnings should start or end with Eddie Vedder