Starbucks

by juneberrystar

Hat for Eliza

Starbucks

After Christmas last year my friend and I had done a hat swap. Really what happened was that I asked her to make me a beautiful lace knitted hat and I in return decided to copy her and give her something similar in return. Whether she knows it or not that was my first swap! I love doing knitting swaps. The hat above is the hat I made from Wooly Wormhead and titled it Starbucks and the hat she made is below: sleigh rides and snowball fights.

sleigh rides and snowball fights

But really that isn’t what my post is about this week. This week my post is about Starbucks but the title reminded me of the hats. I know that everyone feels that Starbucks is this huge franchise that is taking over the coffee industry and maybe it is but it also a fairly decent company. They pay attention to where they get their coffee and if it should be fair trade. Though I am not a fan of their regular coffee you don’t always go to Starbucks for their regular coffee you go for the coffee filled with other things.

One of my favorite quotes is from that movie that wasn’t Sleepless in Seattle but practically the same movie? OH! Right You’ve got mail. “The whole purpose of places like Starbucks is for people with no decision-making ability whatsoever to make six decisions just to buy one cup of coffee. Short, tall, light, dark, caf, decaf, low-fat, non-fat, etc. So people who don’t know what the hell they’re doing or who on earth they are can, for only $2.95, get not just a cup of coffee but an absolutely defining sense of self: Tall. Decaf. Cappuccino.” I think he pegged Starbucks right on the head. Amazingly enough that movie was about emailing or blogging to someone you connect with and here I am writing about it.

What spurred this topic was I realized I could completely gauge the day I am having by what kind of Starbucks I am drinking. Most days the Starbucks I drink my mother would make me in the morning from her machine: Grande, skinny, no foam latte. Which is her Starbucks drink. It is not my favorite but when you get up in the morning and you are completely jonesing for a coffee you’re not about to complain about the free coffee that someone lovingly made for you. Lately, I’ve just been adding a little bit of caramel to make it sweeter…..ttthhheeennnn…. the machine broke and we are still waiting on the replacement part. Now the idea of being picky about my Starbucks seems completely silly.

Next on the menu is Grande, Carmel, Americano. This is my go to drink in the winter time. I ask them to add the caramel to a plain Americano and then I add my own equal and half and half but what I’ve discovered is that this drink basically resembles my new favorite: Grande, Caramel, Machiato (hot or iced). How silly right? I love basically a latte with caramel. Which is every version of Starbucks on my list so far. Its an amazing day when I have one of these drinks in my hand in my personal cup.

This is not the end. After these lattes and I am feeling like that time of the month is coming on or I barely got enough sleep and need some sugar I almost always go for a Grande, Mocha, Frappuccino. The amount of sugar needed to make me human again is located in this drink.

Today, I drove my father’s Wrangler, instead of my own, since we had taken the top off of his being able to drive around with the top down is a real treat. So to say the least I’m pretty thirsty and came to Starbucks to write this post ordering a Venti, Iced, Chai, Latte. MMMmMMMmmm this is one of those drinks I just like to treat myself when I don’t really need a caffeine fix. Its wonderful.

But as I am sitting here, writing this post, I’m reminded of another reason why I love Starbucks. The service. I’ve always had decent service at Starbucks. One of the barista’s brought me a tiny little Starbucks shot of their new Coconut Mocha Frappuccino.

And then the little sucker multiplied into another little shot of Strawberries N’Creme Frappucino. lol how awesome!! My latte gave birth to a mocha which then birthed out another little strawberry. 🙂

Today is a lucky day. Not just because I got free Starbucks but also I’ve started getting extra hours at one of my jobs which will help me stop stressing about money and paying for gas… and maybe even save it. Today is a lucky day! :p