friday to my life

by juneberrystar

This post is bitter sweet. The image above is a photo from  a series I created called “Tribute”. My Grandfather was a soldier in WII and when he passed away I was there at his funeral. I watched the soldiers decorate his coffin with the American flag and it was a very powerful gesture when they then gave the flag to my Grandmother. I didn’t know him for very long but he left a wonderful legacy. Part of that was my Grandmother. Her spirit and personality was awe inspiring. Right before her death I was learning to sew in college. My final project I was to make a memory quilt. When she passed I used the fabric from her house to create a flag to honor her the same way they honored my Grandfather. This photo was taken at their graves, side by side in their memory and this was their song.