a new year…

by juneberrystar

Today, is my one year anniversary of independence. I’ve been reminded a number of times that I need to focus more on the positive things I accomplished and not focus on the negative. I don’t normally do a year in review but after some thought, I truly have done so much this year to be grateful for. On April 1st, 2015 I separated myself from a huge negative part of my life and gradually took bigger steps towards the person I want to be. Since then, I have lost 30 pounds with just eating moderately and having a more active life style. I spent a lot of time reflecting on who I want to be and the kind of attitude I want to have towards my life.

IMG_1711

In the last year, I bought a new condo, made some new friends, shaved the back of my head, started baking again, taught myself how to make ice cream, how to plant grass, install a closet and learn to let go of the things in this life one can live without (like a dying futon no one wants). I donated about $1,000 worth of clothing and house hold items to charity. With the help of a friend, I made a new website and logo for The gallerist. I even traveled, making so many memories with my friends and family.

PicMonkey Collage1

Top: Ravina in the rain; Top Left: broken futon I finally decided to throw away; Middle Left: Tightwad Brewery, new favorite spot; Middle Right: new condo; Bottom Left: finally taking the kayak out for a spin; Bottom Right: Ravina fun.

Nothing will ever really compare to the commitment I made to myself last April about pushing myself forward and making a point to always look after myself first through tough times. You can’t skip these good parts. They are what makes your life so valuable and it’s not easy. It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. To focus on just getting myself healthy, mentally and physically. It’s a struggle and each day is a struggle but I am so much happier with the place I am today than I was a year ago. I couldn’t do it without my friends and family. It’s made a huge difference on my life. I still have a ways to go but I’m much closer to my goals now than I’ve ever been.

PicMonkey Collage2

Top: Me learning to be sexy and happy with the body I have; Middle Left: Door County with friends enjoying the last of fall weather; Middle Right: shaved the back of my head; Bottom Left: Decorated my studio with arrow love; Bottom Right: Kelly and I dress up for Halloween as dead trick or treaters.

PicMonkey Collage3

Top: Christkindlemarket; Middle Left: last sunrise at the Waukegan apartment; Middle Right & Bottom Left: Fourth of July with Liza, Jake & Sarah; Middle Bottom: Door County fire; Bottom Right: Robin & Carl enjoying Christkindlmarket.

PicMonkey Collage4

Top: “Tokyo Shawl” I knitted in Canada; Middle Left: knitted monsters & hedgehog; Middle Right: Monster cookies; Bottom Left: More knitted monsters; Bottom Right: first time making coffee ice cream!

PicMonkey Collage5

Top two images: Urban Edge group art show & Dryhop Brewers solo exhibit; Middle Left and Bottom Left: taking the kayak out; Middle Right: succulents are taking over my new condo; Bottom Right: voted in the presidential primaries. 

PicMonkey Collage8

Top: Enjoying the last of fall with friends in Door County; Middle Left: Stephanie and I at Christkindlemarket; Middle Right: Robin, Carl & I cutting down our first Christmas tree; Bottom Left: Showing Meryl and Stephanie my new home in Libertyville; Bottom Right: Showing Kat and Paul my new home.