Him, Her, and Them

by juneberrystar

the-disappearance-of-eleanor-rigby

No Spoilers:
It has been extremely hard to find something new to watch on Netflix. Not that there isn’t interesting movies or shows but they aren’t prioritized in anyway other than suggestions for you. Then I stumbled upon this gem. I am a big fan of Jessica Chastian. Not just because she is a redhead but she has a huge range of theatrical talent. She can be soft and hard at the same time or go from period pieces to contemporary films. When I did come across “The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: Her” I found something strange. Below it, was the exact same movie except titled “The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: Him”. I had discovered a double feature. I’ve only ever seen Quentin Tarantino use this style of filming.

I rarely enjoy researching a movie before I watch it. I am much more partial to going into it blind and letting the movie tell me what it wants to be. Then I found something even more confusing, “The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: Them”. Getting the sense I was missing some information I did research these three movies to find out that Her and Him is a double feature but when it came time to releasing the movies the studio felt that the audience wouldn’t want to sit through two 1.5 hour movies and created Them. I am not a movie expert nor am I a film critic but this was an unfortunate decision. They had created two extremely beautiful movies and smooshed them together into one. There is not right or wrong way to watch these films but having viewed all three I highly recommend watching Him THEN Her and skipping Them all together. You won’t be disappointed.

the-disappearance-of-eleanor-rigby-him-18406