Spring is Here

by juneberrystar

Spring is finally here. I can’t tell you how much I love this time of year. This past weekend I hosted my first dinner party at my condo. It is a small feat to get nine people around a table in my home but with my sister and her husband’s help, I was able to. There are a lot of things in this world I struggle with. My constant internal battle for time alone vs. hiding in my condo. Having this party, having my family over, having them enjoying my place couldn’t have been possible without her. In fact this was my first dinner party ever. If you are friends with me on Facebook you would see, just how much I’ve been struggling with my ice cream maker but I was able to successfully make vanilla bean ice cream, german chocolate cake (my Dad’s favorite, since it was his birthday) and homemade buttermilk bread. There are a lot of things I would do differently: obviously start out with smaller groups of people, leave more space, the day of the party, to prepare the food, purchase propane for my grill and keep the menu small. I think going forward I might be able to manage it but there will be things I’ll have to adjust. Overall it was a successful party.

Now that spring is in full bloom, my allergies are a mess, the ground is soggy and the birds are singing, I get to enjoy the things I don’t normally get to do. I bake more, enjoy the weather more, go for long walks, make ice cream, and spend time with friends. It’s my hope, now that cakes are under my belt, is to move on to spring pies. My aunt’s purchased my favorite spring toy and gave it to me for my birthday, a pie box. I have yet to try it out.

Firstly, I need a new pie plate. The last one exploded in my kitchen. Don’t ask. I’m just glad I wasn’t in the room when it happened. Secondly, all of my pie making supplies are at my Dad’s house: pie weights, his pie plate, rolling pin, I bet he has a cutter, and lastly my cherry pie filling from Bea’s in Door County, Wisconsin. Trust me, it doesn’t get better than her cherry products and if you haven’t yet tried some, you need to next time you are in Wisconsin.

Easter, however, is on the horizon and I will be returning to Door Country for the weekend. Where I get to visit my favorite clothing store, kitchen store, winerybrewery, and my favorite pub for Friday fish fry. If you ever travel to Door County, I promise these are places you don’t want to miss. I also get to try out my new cakelette pan from william sonoma/nordi ware. I’m thinking carrot cake. Seems like the obvious choice. Good things looking ahead and more to show you after the holiday. Happy Spring!